Meteorite Monday: A new edition to my family of space rocks

Today’s Meteorite Monday is a special one to me for two reasons: 1) I get to formally introduce my brand new meteorite and 2) this is the first time I’m updating my blog from WordPress’s mobile app. I love technology!

I posted pictures of my new jewel on Facebook, Twitter and G+ already, but I thought it appropriate to share it on the blog, too. Especially since I haven’t updated in a while.

Here she is, Northwest Africa 7109:

20120917-103258.jpg

This gorgeous specimen was purchased at our fund raiser on Saturday. It was actually bought by a good friend of mine, Dave, and he gave it to me because I was smitten by it when I first saw it. Not only did I get a new meteorite, but the lab got a portion of the sale to apply to our research. So I wanna give a big thanks to Dave for that! Also, big thanks to those that either donated directly to the lab or purchased meteorites. Your contributions are greatly appreciated and further the exciting science we do in our lab.

The particular meteorite I was gifted is an L5. The L refers to a low metal content and the 5 refers to a relatively high degree of thermal metamorphism. In spite of that, some chondrules are still visible. That nice big broken one in the center is a good example. The piece is pretty well weathered as can be seen from it’s rust colored appearance. I believe the dark colored patches are the result of shock blackening, but that’s just a guess.

I fell in love with this sample because it’s a great teaching resource. It contains all the hallmarks of a meteorite: metal flecks, some shock features and, most importantly, chondrules. It’s the type of meteorite that I’m not afraid to break out of it’s case and let people touch and examine. And that’s incredibly important when getting people excited about meteoritics and science in general.

3 thoughts on “Meteorite Monday: A new edition to my family of space rocks

  1. The photo is coming through several X larger in RSS, but don’t know WP well enough to suggest fix. So this is yours personally? What a kick! I have a nickle-iron slice, sadly rusted from flood, and a couple of tektites. Lust for a nice pallasite, but not likely 😦

    Also, scale?

    • Thanks for letting me know about the size problem. I posted from my phone and I think the preview wasn’t truly indicative of the size. I’ll fix it once I’m at my computer.

      As for the scale of the meteorite, it’s about 2.5″x2.5″. I thought maybe the watch and chem goggles in the foreground would work as a scale. I was wrong!

      • Ah… I couldn’t tell what those items were. As to size, it scales fine on-site, but comes through 3-4 X larger in linear sense in RSS feed.

Leave a Reply

