My science fix

Hi, my name is Ryan, and I am a science addict. From the time that I wake up till I go to bed, I’ve got my head in something science related. Most of said science stems from the sheer amount of studying I do to pass exams. Petrology and chemistry make up the bulk of my readings and homework, but in most cases I’d hardly call it work. The problem with science is that, once you start to learn how the world actually works, you begin to crave more understanding. At least I do anyways. So, where do I get my science fix? Most of my science consumption comes through podcasts with these two being my favorites:

  • Science…. Sort Of– hands down one of my favorite science podcasts. The guys that run it are intelligent, funny, and most importantly, know their libations. In fact, they have a “what are you drinking” segment every show where they discuss their drink of choice. After that they dig into some science stories and then an interview with a scientist from whatever field they happen to be discussing. The greatest thing about Science… Sort Of is that it’s accessible to all. You don’t need to be literate in science in order to understand their discussions. So, it’s a great podcast to introduce to the science novice. Episode 80, Strength in Numbers, is a particular favorite because they interview Dr. Christine Rowe about her takedown of Simon Winchester.
  • Skeptically Speaking– Part science, part skepticism. Of all the podcasts that deal with skepticism in regards to science, this one is my favorite. Unlike another popular skeptic podcast, this one reserves its snark for the leaders of  the woo movement, instead of aiming it at the general public. Like Science… Sort Of, it’s very approachable and is meant for all backgrounds of science comprehension. Episode #106, Science and Culture, is a great one to start with if you haven’t listened to them before.

When I’m not listening to podcasts and trying to force the chemical formula for amphibole into my head, then I’m reading any number of blog posts from those on my sidebar or ones that pop up on my twitter feed. I’m also a huge fan of Scientific American and to a lesser extent, New Scientist and Discover.

This is just a short list of my favorites and isn’t comprehensive. In truth, my readings and podcast habits are quite numerous and I can’t list everything. Maybe I’ll start doing a weekly post about what I’m reading or listening to that week.

One thought on “My science fix

Leave a Reply

