Where on Google Earth #242

To kick off the post Christmas recovery, here’s my latest contribution to Where on Google Earth. The last  WoGE was quite a challenge  and I really had no hope of solving it. However, I was lucky enough to stumble across these photos (look at number 11) and I thought I’d give it another try. I found it right before I had to go to work and was unable to post my response. Ron Schott, who found it after me, was nice enough to let me claim the prize and host the new WoGE.

So, the WoGE that I chose should be fairly easy. At least the geology should be easy to recognize and that’ll help to narrow down possible locations. I decided to go with this image because I was impressed with the amount of geologic features that could be sussed out of this location. At first glance, two features were obvious and a little perusing revealed three others. Tell me where this location is (latitude and longitude), a bit about the geology and name off a couple of these geological features. I’m not employing the Schott Rule, so it’s fair game for all playing.

As is the norm with Where on Google Earth, the winner will host the next one on their blog. If you don’t have a blog, I’d be happy to help set one up for you. If you don’t want to host the next one, please don’t play. The geoblogosphere works hard at keeping the ball rolling on our little tradition. When the next one is ready please include a link in this posts comment section. Thanks and good hunting!

 

6 thoughts on “Where on Google Earth #242

  1. 43.6164S, 170.2002E

    Tasman Glacier, South Island, New Zealand

    New Zealand’s longest glacier. It is an example of an alpine glacier in rapid retreat. Most of what is seen in this WoGE is in the zone of ablation, where more ice is lost during the summer than is gained during the winter. A much more detailed account of its current condition may be found here.

  2. Okay, I should add that there are lots of other good alpine glacial features and landforms that one can find in this view. There’s a nice tributary glacier entering from the west (and making about a 120 degree right turn to join the main glacier). There are horns, aretes, cirques, crevasses, lateral moraines, medial moraines, and truncated spurs. Did I miss anything?

  3. Pingback: Where on (Google) Earth #243? » Ron Schott's Geology Home Companion Blog

Leave a Reply

